Showing posts with label Ruling Corner. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Ruling Corner. Show all posts

Monday, February 21, 2011

Pull the Trigger

Holy balls, there's news capable of bringing eGale out of hiding!

http://yugioh.faq.konami.jp/EokpControl?&event=IE0004&wid=60796&target=faq


What this is saying: As of March 19th, alongside the release of the Yu-Gi-Oh! ZeXal Starter Deck, there will be a slight change in the way Ignition effects work that will be applied to the OCG (there has been no such announcement for the TCG) from that date onward.

If you've been playing for awhile, you've probably become accustomed to using your Ignition effects immediately in response to your own summons, and this is what's changing; you will no longer be able to use them until after the summon response window has closed. The turn player's priority will not extend to the use of Ignition effects during the summon response window.

This makes cards such as Chaos Sorcerer, Card Trooper, Dark Grepher, Brionac, Scrap Dragon, and so forth a touch weaker in that you cannot activate their effects prior to Torrential Tribute and friends taking them off the table. Cards like Bottomless Trap Hole and Book of Moon become significantly more powerful.

Really sucks to be Plant and Infernity decks right about now, but most others don't care too much. Caius is still the bee's knees.

Tuesday, November 16, 2010

Sigh

And yet another TCG exclusive is ruled against precedent for no good reason.

Skull Meister can be activated during the damage step, folks. On one hand, this makes the card much better, but on the other... it simply doesn't make sense. FFFFFUUUUU-

Wednesday, May 19, 2010

Apparently

"Until the end of the damage step" means "Until after the damage step."

8|

Monday, May 17, 2010

CAPS LOCK IS CRUISE CONTROL FOR COOL


Am I the only one who's thoroughly amused with this card's name? Seems like you're meant to yell it upon activation...

Anyway, this is a fairly underrated card so far, at least in TCGland. I can't really blame anyone for that - giving up your battle phase hurts a lot with a theme as aggressive as Infernity. Even so, I think there's a lot of potential merit to a "Monster Reborn" and "Dark Hole" hybrid that can be used in threes. Maybe not today, maybe not tomorrow, maybe not until several formats from now, but "ZERO-MAX" is definitely worth a second look due to its raw, unadulterated power.

Ruling Corner

The effect of "ZERO-MAX" targets the "Infernity" monster in your Graveyard.

"Stardust Dragon," etc. cannot negate "ZERO-MAX" because it is uncertain whether or not it will destroy cards.

"ZERO-MAX" cannot be activated from your hand. It must be Set, then activated while you have no cards in your hand.

"ZERO-MAX" destroys monsters after it Special Summons your "Infernity" monster. "Torrential Tribute," etc. cannot be activated because the last event was not a monster being summoned. This is true even if no monsters are destroyed.

You use the current ATK of the Special Summoned monster when destroying monsters.

"ZERO-MAX" can be activated as long as you have at least 1 free monster card zone, even if there are no monsters on the field.

Tuesday, April 27, 2010

Ruling Corner - Drill Warrior

This guy is causing quite a stir, so I'd figure I'd let everyone know about a relevant situation that finally got an official answer.



Chaining "Book of Moon" to the effect of "Drill Warrior" to remove itself from play doesn't do anything. The face-down "Drill Warrior" is still "this card" and recognized by the game state as such. It will be removed from play (face-up as per default), and a card will be discarded.

This is similar to how "Judgment Dragon" and Demise do not destroy themselves with their effects if they are flipped face-down, as they are still "this card."

Cards that refer to themselves by name, or say they need to remain face-up, are obviously another issue altogether and behave a different way.

Sunday, March 28, 2010

Ruling Corner - Random, (Most Likely) Unwritten Rules

#1. A card you control is a card on your side of the field. An effect you control is an effect you activated or applied, intentionally or not.

---

#2. You can never use cards your opponent controls to fulfill a cost or perform a summon unless a card explicitly mentions you can.

---

#3. Face-down cards do not have any verifiable properties beyond being "a monster" or "a spell or trap card."

Exceptions:

Tributing a monster for a cost, be it for a summon or a card like "Icarus Attack."

Performing the inherent special summoning method of a Fusion Monster using your own cards, such as "Chimeratech Fortress Dragon," "Gladiator Beast Gyzarus," or "Elemental Hero Air Neos." Note that this only extends to using your own cards, and as such your opponent's face-down machines cannot be used for "Chimeratech Fortress Dragon."

Performing a Fusion Summon. The method doesn't matter. Again, your opponent's face-down cards cannot be used for the likes of "Super Polymerization" if specific requirements need to be met for the Fusion Monster.

Performing a Ritual Summon.

As you can see, the tribute and fusion mechanics tend to be pretty lenient. Obviously, all these exceptions are void if the card in question asks you for face-up monsters.

---

#4. Unless they explicitly or implicitly say so themselves, or are ruled that way, monsters do not need to remain face-up on the field for their effects that have already been activated to resolve properly.

For example, "Mist Valley Soldier" explicitly states it must remain face-up for its effect to work. "Light and Darkness Dragon" implies it, since it needs to be able to alter its own stats. "Zombie Master" is ruled that way due to missing text in the TCG.

---

#5. Effects ALWAYS activate and resolve in the same place. There is no exception to this.

---

#6. Effects cannot be activated in the middle of a resolving chain. Mandatory effects will wait until the next possible opportunity to activate if their trigger was met in the middle of a resolving chain.

Monday, March 15, 2010

Ruling Corner - Union Monsters

If you activate a Union monster's Ignition effect to equip it to another monster, and the targeted monster is no longer face-up on the field when resolving the Union monster's effect, the Union monster will still become an Equip Spell.

Since Equip Spells cannot exist without a face-up monster to continuously target, the Union monster (er... I guess, spell at this point :P) will be sent to the graveyard by game mechanics.